Overcoming Running Phobia: Run 48, Thursday 25 August, 2011

Ok, I can admit it …

until I successfully completed today’s run, I was suffering from RUNNING PHOBIA post City2Surf.

Happily, I can say that I ran 11.20 km in 60 minutes tonight without anything dreadful happening, and have now seemingly overcome RUNNING PHOBIA.

So, what is RUNNING PHOBIA?

Well, after that horrible headache I had for 10 days or something, I decided deep in my suffering brainbox, that it was all down to the running.

Actually, it wasn’t, it was mostly sinuses and tight muscles, and the running only exacerbated this sense of wretchedness.

Yesterday I didn’t go running in the morning because of [ramble ramble lame excuse].

Perturbed that I was coming up with [ramble ramble lame excuse]s to avoid running with no good reason, I did a bit of soul searching last night (which equated to some vague semblance of meditation).

After a few minutes of trying to think about not much, my phobia was there staring me down.

I WAS SCARED OF RUNNING!

Or, more like it, SCARED OF PAIN GRIPPING MY HEAD LIKE A VICE!

There’s nowhere else to go with this really, now I’ve faced up to it and managed to run (and enjoy it for the last 30 minutes, and especially the final 15). Basically, I look forward to being on track again.

The fact I went back to my osteopath tonight for further treatment has helped, and she also said ‘the running didn’t cause that headache’. I am just going to check in with her once a month now, and develop a close relationship with a giant blue foam roller she sold me for $50 bucks.

In fact, I am off to go roll on that roller now!

I may need to give this foam roller a name.

I know!

ROLAND.

Leave a Reply

