Personal training: Monday 25 July, 2011

Today’s session was all about steps in added preparation for Heartbreak Hill in the City 2 Surf.

It involved around 20 minutes of running up and down a very long and steep set of stairs (around 80 or 90 steps? I’ll count next time) leading onto the beach at Sandringham. I was cutting through what seemed like sheer cliff face (but wasn’t quite). It wasn’t a CONSTANT 20 minutes, as I did have to breathe in between each run!

I can’t say I enjoyed it. In fact, I LOATHED IT.

I could barely breathe, and felt like I was going to throw up. For the first few sets, I was running beyond the steps around the bush up to the car park. My trainer stopped that aspect of the whole hideous ordeal when I said I was about to keel over.

I am doing the same thing again on Wednesday, on a different set of steps.

Leave a Reply

