Personal training and run 28: Wednesday 6 July, 2011

Personal training today was a circuit of pulley bear hug things, push ups, 500-metre rows, sit ups, pulley press-down things, rows standing on the half ball … and I think that’s it. I am getting a lot better at push ups, which is a bonus.

RUNNING:

The boring winter colds and malaise has me behind on my running, so I skipped  the scheduled 1 hour and 15 minute run, and this morning moved on to the next run in my schedule: 40 minutes.

It has been 5 days since I last ran, and considering I’ve been unwell, I thought I’d take it a bit easier than launching straight into a long run. I enjoyed the run (I didn’t wear my distance watch, but ran for 40 minutes) and will get back into it tomorrow, properly.

GENERAL THOUGHTS ON TIME AND MY ABILITY TO TRAIN:

Last night, I had a few down moments and thought WHY OH WHY DID I DECIDE TO START RUNNING IN WINTER? THIS IS JUST STUPID AND INAPPROPRIATE.

So, yes, it has been a bit disheartening to have to skip runs because of illness, the weather, or basically being unable to get out because it is pitch dark and I feel unsafe. I guess an 85% hit rate isn’t too bad (that is a figure I’ve pulled out of my skull, feels like 8 times out of 10 I make it!). And, two months ago, I certainly couldn’t run 14.5 kilometres!!!!!!!

I guess the upshot is that it will be A LOT easier when it comes to summer time and daylight savings, and the days stretching out once we get to September (hopefully).

Right now, I have a very small window of opportunity to run (early in the mornings, and rare evenings when Tim gets home from work early). As the kids get older and attend kindergarten this will loosen up to include a few lunch times of running a week, so even next winter won’t be so tough to train in.

And, truthfully, I love having these goals to work towards – and achieve – even if it makes my daily schedule a lot tougher to wrangle. It will all work out.

Leave a Reply

